Shortlisted Titles Announced for New Brunswick Book Awards


March 22, 2022 – The Writers' Federation of New Brunswick (WFNB) and The Fiddlehead have announced the shortlisted titles for the 7th annual New Brunswick Book Awards. The winners will be revealed at an awards ceremony on Saturday, June 4, as part of WFNB’s annual WordSpring writing festival in Fredericton. The finalists are as follows:


Mrs. Dunster’s Award for Fiction
Amber McMillan, The Running Trees (Goose Lane Editions), Fredericton

Beth Powning, The Sister’s Tale (Knopf Canada), Markhamville

Valerie Sherrard, Birdspell (DCB/Cormorant Books), Miramichi


Alice Kitts Memorial Award for Excellence in Children’s Writing

Jodie Callaghan, Ga’s The Train (Second Story Press), Campbellton; translated by Joe Wilmot, and illustrated Georgia Lesley

Leo LaFleur, The Errand: The Queen (Simply Read Books), Saint John; illustrated by Adam Oehlers

Riel Nason, Disaster at the Highland Games (Chocolate River Publishing), Quispamsis; illustrated by Nathasha Pilotte


The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize
Triny Finlay, Myself a Paperclip (Goose Lane Editions), Fredericton

Rebecca Salazar, sulphurtongue (McClelland & Stewart), Fredericton

Jane Tims, a glimpse of waterfall (Indie published), Rusagonis


Writers’ Federation of New Brunswick Nonfiction Award
Michael Boudreau and Bonnie Huskins, Just the Usual Work: The Social Worlds of Ida Martin, Working-Class Diarist (McGill-Queen’s University Press), Fredericton

Janet Coulter Sanford, Memories on the Bounty: A Story of Friendship, Love, and Adventure (Nimbus), Moncton

Martha Vowles, Senior Management: Parenting My Parents (Nevermore Press), Grand-Bay Westfield

Quick Facts


>   Picture Books
>   Fiction
>   Poetry
>   Nonfiction


Books published between January 1 and December 31 of the given prize year. 


For more details about eligibility, please see "Eligibility" tab above.


Our next award submission period is (for best books published in 2020) is now open! Check our Eligibility Page first, then send two copies of eligible books along with the 2021 Entry form to:

>   New Brunswick Book Awards

​     c/o The Fiddlehead

​     Campus House

     11 Garland Court UNB

     PO Box 4400

     Fredericton, NB

     E3B 5A3


>   For all queries, please click here

     to email.


The NB Book Awards Committee


     Rayanne Brennan, WFNB

     Rhonda Bulmer, WFNB

     Rosalyn Hyslop, WFNB


     Ross Leckie, The Fiddlehead


     Ian LeTourneau, The Fiddlehead




are co-administered and co-sponsored by The Fiddlehead: Atlantic Canada's International Journal and the Writers' Federation of New Brunsiwck. For prize sponsorships or other partnerships, please contact us!


Presented by: